Greg Taylor spent 17 years in prison for a murder he did not commit.

A precedent setting hearing set him free and rocked North Carolina’s criminal justice system.

This landmark case highlights a groundbreaking legal process needed nationwide. The time is now.

How criminal justice
reform freed Greg Taylor

Greg Taylor spent 17 years in prison
for a brutal murder he did not commit.

A precedent setting hearing set him free and rocked
North Carolina’s criminal justice community.

This landmark case highlights a groundbreaking
legal process needed nationwide.


$25,000 Matching Grant Challenge!
Please help us meet a $25,000 Matching Grant Challenge from the James G. Hanes Memorial Fund. Every new donor’s donation we receive will be MATCHED!

Reaching this goal will give us the funds we need to complete the film. Then we can release it into the world and begin having an impact on criminal justice reform!


In Pursuit of Justice, set in North Carolina, is a criminal justice documentary with a unique answer to wrongful convictions nationwide.

The Taylor Family

Greg Taylor, his parents, sister, and younger brother

Our story begins September 25, 1991, when Greg, out partying with a friend, Johnny Beck, gets his truck stuck in a muddy field. At 3:30AM, as they walk out of the field, they pass the brutally beaten body of Jacquetta Thomas. Fewer than 18 hours later, both are arrested for Jacquetta’s murder.

Greg and his family fought the system for 17 years. They sacrificed hours of time, spent over $130,000, and were denied at every judicial level. Without hope, Greg steeled himself to spending the rest of his life in prison.

Meanwhile, conservative North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice I. Beverly Lake, Jr. and his law clerk, Chris Mumma, were examining the causes of wrongful convictions. Their work led a politically divided state legislature to establish the North Carolina Innocence Inquiry Commission – a state supported, independent agency that has the power to completely investigate claims of innocence. Greg’s case is historic – he’s the first person in the country to be freed through this unique legal process.

Greg’s story teaches us wrongful convictions can happen to anyone, and there are effective, reasonable reforms that can dramatically improve our criminal justice system. Each one of us is also a potential juror with a obligation to understand how our legal system works, the weaknesses that need strengthening in that system, and how our decisions can impact others’ lives.

US Postage Stamp

Check out our recent updates

New to our project? See where we have come from by browsing through our past email updates.

Catch up on our progress

Thanks to Our Supporters! (wait…for…it…)

Please check out our donor page for a complete list!

Steve Eller

Marjorie Jamback

Beth Beale & Diane Spaugh

Dr. David Bland

Tom Condon

Roberta Farr

Michael McKenzie

Pat Reck


Leslie & Dick Jamback

Suzy McCalley

Jonathan Burdette

Susan Ott

Judi Wallace

Scott Money

Susan Brittain

Shirley Fly

Mike Mabe

Sonia & Ed Crandall

Avery Church

Roxanne Howe-Murphy

Joan Wright

Tanya Gregory

Ann Zimmerman

Randy Melson

Carolyn Bartlett

Carol Zeil & Don Kautz

Mignon Dobbins

Beth Bailey

Jean & Gary Isaac

Diane Behar & Doreen Hughes

Dianne & Jim Campbell

Anne & Charlie Wilson

Terrence Harmon

Jennifer Smith

Tory Gillette

Piper Millsaps

James & Shelia Wallace

Anne “Cookie” Wilson

Elizabeth Long

Jacqui Carrasco & David Ford

David Ball & Susan Pochapsky

Anne Rainey Rokahr

Melody Thomson

Philip “Opie” Kirby

Gayle Anderson & W. Carey Hedgepeth, Jr.

Ann & Gerry Hopkins

Tomi Melson & Sam Sanger

Deborah & Charles Wallace

Jill Balogh

Caron Armstrong

Donna Hampton & Rick Jones

Ingrid Stabb

Gilson Lincoln

Andi Ostberg

Kate & David Lambeth

Sharon Wilmoth

Patricia Johansson

Becky Taylor

Richard Reidy

David Holt

Campbell University Law School

Catie Armstrong

Earnestine Boles

Jo Anne Clayton

Elaine David

Nancy David & Laurin Stroud

Ben Fyten

Warren Jones

Jeff MacIntosh

Piper Millsaps

Mark Rabil

Ron Short

Kristen Ostberg

Adrienne Ostberg-Pool

Herman Schmid & Cindy Naylor

Dick & Leslie Jamback

Karen Jo Miller

Judith Porter

Chris & Jack Ritchie

Annmarie Pantazis

Jane North

Jill Gardner

Catherine Hendren

Kevin Mundy

Anne Rainey Rokahr

Ken Otterbourg

Alex Prada


Pop-up screening and fundraiser!!!
This Thursday, November 16 at Ovation Sound
Address: 4310 Enterprise Dr # E, Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Doors open at 6:30. Screening at 7:15.
Sponsored by Eva Wu and Randy Royer